

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 1

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

First Session

Twenty-Seventh Legislature

Monday, April 14, 2008

This being the first Day of the First Session of the Twenty-Seventh Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta, for the despatch of business pursuant to a Proclamation of His Honour the Honourable Norman L. Kwong, CM, AOE, Lieutenant Governor, dated the 9th day of April in the year of our Lord Two Thousand Eight;

The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly read the Proclamation as follows:

[GREAT SEAL] CANADA PROVINCE OF ALBERTA

NORMAN L. KWONG, Lieutenant Governor.

ELIZABETH THE SECOND, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom, Canada, and Her Other Realms and Territories, QUEEN, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith

PROCLAMATION

TO OUR FAITHFUL, the MEMBERS elected to serve in the Legislative Assembly of Our Province of Alberta and to each and every one of you, GREETING...

WHEREAS it is deemed expedient for certain causes and considerations to convene the Legislative Assembly of Our Province of Alberta for the First Session of the Twenty-seventh Legislature, WE DO WILL that you and each of

1

Terrence J. Matchett, Q.C., Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General you, and all others in this behalf interested, on Monday, the 14th day of April 2008, at the hour of 1:30 in the afternoon, at Our City of Edmonton, personally be and appear, for the despatch of business, to treat, act, do and conclude upon those things which, in the Legislature of Our Province of Alberta, by the Common Council of Our said Province, may, by the favour of God, be ordained.

HEREIN FAIL NOT

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF We have caused these Our Letters to be made Patent and the Great Seal of Our Province of Alberta to be hereunto affixed.

WITNESS: THE HONOURABLE NORMAN L. KWONG, Lieutenant Governor of Our Province of Alberta, in Our City of Edmonton in Our Province of Alberta, this 9th day of April in the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Eight and in the Fifty-seventh Year of Our Reign.

BY COMMAND:

ALISON REDFORD Provincial Secretary.

The Members, having previously been duly sworn in by His Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor and having subscribed to the Roll containing the Oath, took their seats.

His Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor entered the Assembly and took his seat on the Throne.

Statement by the Provincial Secretary

The Provincial Secretary, Hon. Ms Redford, then said:

Honourable Members, I am commanded by His Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor to inform you that he does not see fit to declare the causes of his summoning of the present Legislature of this Province until the Speaker of the Assembly shall have been chosen according to law.

He therefore is pleased to retire from this Assembly, to return at a subsequent hour tomorrow, to declare the causes of his calling of this Legislature.

His Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor then retired from the Assembly.

2

Election of Speaker

The Clerk advised the House that nominations were open and the following Members were nominated and allowed their names to stand for the position of Speaker:

Ms Blakeman, nominated by Dr. Swann

Mr. Kowalski, nominated by Hon. Mrs. Jablonski

Receiving no additional nominations, the Clerk declared nominations closed.

Ballots were completed by the Members.

The Clerk, Clerk Assistant, Clerk of Journals/Table Research, Parliamentary Counsel and Sergeant-at-Arms retired from the Chamber to count the ballots.

Election Results

The Clerk then announced the following:

The results of the first ballot for the election of the Speaker are as follows: the number of ballots cast, 80; the number of spoiled ballots, 1; the number of votes required to achieve the 50 percent plus one majority, 41; the Member having received the majority of votes cast, Mr. Kowalski. Mr. Kowalski is hereby declared Speaker of the Legislative Assembly for the 27th Legislature.

Speaker's Address to the Assembly

The Speaker donned his robe. The Speaker thanked the Assembly for the honour conferred upon him with the following speech:

Honourable Members and ladies and gentlemen, let me at the outset say thank you to the Honourable Minister of Seniors and Community Supports for moving my nomination and to all Members of the Legislative Assembly for their participation in the selection of myself as your Speaker for Alberta's 27th Legislature. This is an honour that I truly and humbly accept.

The role of a parliamentarian is paramount in the functioning of our democracy in the Province of Alberta. Our traditions and our customs have seen civility and decorum as the mainstay for our conduct. It is my hope that the expectations of today will be our guide for the future. All Members have an incredible opportunity to make a difference. I'm very proud to be among you. I'm very honoured to be able to serve with you as your Speaker as we go forward.

May God watch over all of us. Thank you so much.

The Speaker then took the Chair and the Sergeant-at-Arms placed the Mace on the Table. The Speaker delivered the prayer.

3

Let us pray. Father, on this day of a new beginning we ask for your guidance in the responsibility we have undertaken and your help in fulfilling our duties. As Members of this Legislative Assembly may we faithfully serve all Albertans and, in serving them, serve you. Amen.

Election of Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees

The Speaker advised the House that nominations were open and the following Members were nominated and allowed their names to stand for the position of Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees:

Mr. Mitzel, nominated by Mr. Rogers

Mr. Cao, nominated by Mr. Anderson

Ms Pastoor, nominated by Mr. MacDonald

Receiving no additional nominations, the Speaker declared nominations closed.

Ballots were completed by the Members.

The Clerk, Clerk Assistant, Clerk of Journals/Table Research, Parliamentary Counsel and Sergeant-at-Arms retired from the Chamber to count the ballots.

Election Results

The Clerk then announced the following:

The results of the first ballot for the election of the Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees are as follows: the number of ballots cast, 80; the number of spoiled ballots, 0; the number of votes required to achieve the 50 percent plus one majority, 41. No candidate has received a majority of the votes cast. Ms Pastoor has received the least number of total votes cast. Ms Pastoor's name will therefore be excluded from subsequent ballots.

Ballots were completed by the Members.

The Clerk, Clerk Assistant, Clerk of Journals/Table Research, Parliamentary Counsel and Sergeant-at-Arms retired from the Chamber to count the ballots.

The Clerk then announced the following:

The results of the second ballot for the election of the Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees are as follows: the number of ballots cast, 79; the number of spoiled ballots, 0; the number of votes required to achieve the 50 percent plus one majority, 40; the Member having received the majority of votes cast, Mr. Cao. Mr. Cao is hereby declared the Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees of the Legislative Assembly for the 27th Legislature.

Mr. Cao thanked the Assembly for electing him Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees.

Election of Deputy Chair of Committees

The Speaker advised the House that nominations were open and the following Member was nominated and allowed his name to stand for the position of Deputy Chair of Committees:

Mr. Mitzel, nominated by Mr. Oberle

Receiving no additional nominations, the Speaker declared Mr. Mitzel Deputy Chair of Committees of the Legislative Assembly for the 27th Legislature.

Unanimous consent was granted to destroy all ballots and materials related to the elections.

Adjournment

The Assembly adjourned at 2:55 p.m. until Tuesday, April 15, 2008, at 3:00 p.m.

5

Hon. Ken Kowalski, Speaker

Title: Monday, April 14, 2008